LibGuides: Appalachian Studies: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Accessible Archives
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century periodicals, particularly useful for civil war and genealogical research. Includes: Godey`s Lady`s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, Richmond Enquirer, 19th Century African American Newspapers, The 19th Century American County Histories to 1900, The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County, The Industrial Revolution in Delaware County /w Vital Statistics, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County.
America History and Life
Covers North American (US and Canadian) history from prehistory to the present, providing references to journal articles, books, dissertations and reviews. America: History and Life covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including all key English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
America's Historical Newspapers
Contains more than 150 newspapers, including major titles from every region of the U.S. Coverage throughout the Civil War and into the critical postwar period.
American Civil War Collection
Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath. These diverse materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include broadsides, lithographs, maps, books, pamphlets, photographs, political cartoons, stereographs, and more. Coverage extends throughout the Civil War and well beyond into the critical postwar period.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid is a free database that allows searching across hundreds of institutions' special collections records, including the collections of The West Virginia and Regional History Center.
Civil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1843-1877
Primary source documents for research into the American Civil War - provides access to more than 150 newspapers, 50,000 government documents and 4,000 rare broadsides and pieces of ephemera. Extensive local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society during this tumultuous period.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of more than 1,000 scholarly, interdisciplinary journals, with full coverage for all but the most current 3-5 years. The entire archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Fold3 (formerly footnote)
Historical documents collections, most never before available before on the Internet, relating to the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, U S Presidents, historical newspapers and naturalization documents.