LibGuides: Hospitality &amp; Culinary: Finding Articles

Nutrition

ADA Nutrition Care Manual
Research-based nutrition information about risk screening, diseases, nutrition care, conversion calculators, a formulary, materials for client education, and a link for resources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

Household Products Health & Safety Information
This database links over 8,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Categories of products include household cleaners, automotive products, personal care items, pesticides, yard and home maintenance supplies, home office supplies, products used for pet care, and materials used for hobbies and crafts.

Academic Search Complete
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
Masterfile Premier
Full text for nearly 1,750 general reference periodicals with information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,017 biographies, 105,786 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 400,972 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Provided by the West Virginia Library Commission with funds from the WV State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the Institute of Library and Museum Services.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Online electronic books covering all academic disciplines.
CREDO Reference
A collection of nearly 500 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books provides a good starting point for research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical, business and literary sources.

Agricola (Ebscohost)
The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, and the remaining ten percent describe monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, and other types of materials. Together they provide worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. In addition, AGRICOLA contains subfiles of related bibliographic citations that have been prepared by sources other than the National Agricultural Library, for example, the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) and the American Agricultural Economics Documentation Center (AAEDC). These and other information centers and cooperators contribute subfiles to AGRICOLA covering special subjects. Pre-1979 AGRICOLA records are derived from the CAIN format; from 1979 on, MARC-formatted records are used to create the database.