Collection Development Policy for WVU Tech Library: Introduction

WVU Institute of Technology, a state-supported institution within the West Virginia University system, has grown into a comprehensive center of higher learning over its 130-year history. It serves multiple roles:

• The university offers a wide range of baccalaureate and master's degrees in various fields, such as liberal arts, business administration, teacher education, social and natural sciences, and career-oriented areas.

• It provides credit courses for individuals who seek to broaden and update their knowledge in familiar or new fields of intellectual endeavor, regardless of their pursuit of a specific degree.

The purpose of this collection development policy is to outline the WVU Tech Library's program and establish standards for selecting, developing, and maintaining its collection. WVU Institute of Technology and the WVU Tech Library aim to acquire and offer materials in various formats while considering available resources. The library evaluates existing collections, develops policies, and engages in resource sharing agreements to expand accessible materials.

The goals of this plan are as follows:

• Determine and document budget needs.
• Enhance communication between the Library and its users.
• Ensure consistent and balanced collection growth.
• Foster awareness of a diverse and global environment.
• Provide high-quality academic services and resources that encourage intellectual curiosity and critical inquiry.
• Engage in community outreach.
• Meet the instructional and institutional needs of Shepherd University's population.
• Establish a planning document for ongoing collection development.
• Provide selection guidelines for library materials.
• Establish guidelines for collection maintenance and preservation.
• Set standards for continuous collection assessment.