LibGuides: Psychology Resources: Finding Articles

Database Changes

APA Database Name Changes:

The names of databases published by the American Psychological Association (APA) have changed to the following:

APA PsychArticles
APA PsycBooks
APA PsycExtra
APA PsychInfo
APA PsycTests
APA PsycTherapy

Search the Databases

Databases A to Z

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video is a multi-part online collection that addresses this need by providing more than 1,000 hours of training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions. These recorded counseling sessions, conducted by practitioners worldwide, provide an opportunity to view expert therapists at work and learn intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define successful counseling experiences.
Handbook of Child Psychology 6th Edition
The handbook spans the entire field of child psychology including topics such as spirituality, social understanding, and non-verbal communication. v.1 Theoretical Models of Human Development, v.2 Cognition Perception and Language, v.3 Social, Emotional, and Personality Development, v.4 Child Psychology in Practice.
PILOTS
The PILOTS database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD. Although it is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PILOTS database is not limited to literature on PTSD among veterans.
PsycArticles
Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.
PsychiatryOnline
Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks.
PsychiatryOnline
Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks.
PsycINFO
Contains two million references and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and citation information for each instrument. It contains resources that span the full breadth of testing in psychological research, including neuropsychological tests, personality assessments, skills and proficiency tests, measures of addiction, IQ and aptitude scales and instruments, and more.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Identifying Scholarly Articles

Identifying Scholarly Articles
This article defines scholarly articles and instructs the reader on ways to identify them,

E-Journals

Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health
Journal of Criminal Psychology
Mental Health and Physical Activity Mental Health and Physical Activity is an international forum for scholarly reports on any aspect of relevance to advancing our understanding of the relationship between mental health and physical activity.
Mental Health Services Research
Psychology & Health
Psychology & Sexuality
Psychology, Community & Health
Psychology and Aging
Journal of Psychohistory Combines the insights of psychotherapy with the research methodology of the social sciences to understand the emotional origin of the social and political behavior of groups and nations, past and present.
Journal of Psychology
American Journal of Psychological Research American Journal of Psychological Research (AJPR) is a peer reviewed, electronic journal covering all aspects of psychology, with special emphasis on collaborative research by students and their faculty mentors. Publication is sponsored by Dr. Carl Bartling, who provides free access to its contents. Authors retain copyright for their work. AJPR is permanently archived at the Library of McNeese State University.
In-Mind Magazine

Searching with keywords instead of phrases and connecting them with Boolean operators get you more targeted search results.

Using Boolean Operators

Boolean operators “AND”, “OR”, and “NOT” define relationships between words. How do they work?

“AND” – searches all of your search terms. Example: poverty and population and income. Records will contain all these terms. Fewer records are retrieved, but more precise.

“OR” – either or both terms are retrieved. Example: mouse OR rat. More records are retrieved, but less precise.

“NOT” – when used it excludes or ignores words from the search. Example: dementia NOT Alzheimer’s. Alzheimer’s is excluded from the search results. Using “NOT” can be tricky. You may eliminate a word associated with your topic that may provide additional information. This search helps to narrow your results, but is very restrictive.

Sometimes you may not get the results you want, but don't give up. Finding information involves playing around with your keywords. For example, if you are looking for information about the disease AIDS, you will get results about hearing aids sprinkled in your search results. To avoid this you may need to try "HIV" or "immunodeficiency."

Here are some keywords you may want to add to your searches try to get more targeted results:

Firearms

Ballistics

Violence

Statistics

Procedure

Clemency

Recidivism

Truncation is a searching strategy that can help you broaden your search results. The most common truncation symbol is *. For example, searching "fraud*" will search for the words "fraud," "frauds," "fraudulent," and "fraudually."