LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Evidence-based

Evidence-Based Practice

As a health professional, using the best evidence to support your role in making healthy decisions for patient care is critical.

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial

Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial (Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives)
This tutorial demonstrates the concepts of Evidence-based practice through interactive modules.

Recommended eResources

CINAHL with Full Text
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is a comprehensive resource providing full-text to more than 600 journals dating back to 1981. This is an excellent, authoritative database to begin your research.
Cochrane Library
This resource contains six databases each covering a different type of evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

OVID Resources
This portal provides access to the WVU journal subscriptions through OVID, a search portal for tables of contents and abstracts of ALL OVID journals, MEDLINE through OVID, the OVID Nursing Database, and Zoological Record.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Evidence-Based Practice Books

The Patient History: an evidence-based approach to differential diagnosis by Mark Henderson; Lawrence M. Tierney; Gerald W. Smetana
Call Number: REF RC65 .T54 2012
ISBN: 9780071624947
Publication Date: 2012-07-04
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: appraisal and application of research by Schmidtt; Nola A. Schmidt; Janet M. Brown
Call Number: RT81.5 E95 2012
ISBN: 9781449624071
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Evidence-Based Nursing: the research-practice connection by Sarah Jo Brown
Call Number: RT81.5 B82 2014 (Course Reserves 2 hrs)
ISBN: 9781449690991
Publication Date: 2013-01-28
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: evidence-based concepts, skills, and practices by Wanda K. Mohr
Call Number: RC440 .P737 2013 (Course Reserves 2 hrs)
ISBN: 9781609137083
Publication Date: 2012-10-24

To search for more nursing books or ebooks go to the library's catalog WorldCat.

Literature Searching

Conducting a winning literature search

Ecker, E. D., & Skelly, A. C. (2010). Conducting a winning literature search. Evidence-based spine-care journal, 1(1), 9–14. https://doi.org/10.1055/s-0028-1100887