Skip to main content

American Literature 2: Early 19th Century - 21st Century: American Literature

Notable American Authors

Mark Twain

Henry David Thoreau

Edgar Allan Poe

Edith Wharton

William Faulkner

Alice Walker

Ernest Hemingway

Louisa May Alcott

Harper Lee

Langston Hughes

Maya Angelou

Stephen King

Nathaniel Hawthorne

Periods of American Literature

American literature is often divided into five major periods:

  • The Colonial and Early National period (17th century to 1830)
  • The Romantic period (1830 to 1870)
  • Realism and Naturalism (1870 to 1910)
  • The Modernist period (1910 to 1945)
  • The Contemporary period (1945 to present)

About 19th Century American Literature

About 20th Century Literature


Jewel (Rucker) Connell's picture
Jewel (Rucker) Connell
WVU Tech Library
410 Neville Street
Beckley, WV 25801