Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias of Music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is an online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Contains than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
The International Encyclopedia of Dance provides access to nearly 2,000 articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. You can also browse entries A-Z. This resource is limited to one user at a time.
Oxford Music Online
The standard English-language encyclopedia of music and musicians.
Oxford Music Bibliographies
Authoritative research guides combining high-level encyclopedic overviews and annotated bibliographies on 178 music topics including composers, instruments, style periods, countries, and more.
Oxford Reference spans 25 different subject areas and brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.