Forensic Investigation
Criminalistics by
For introductory courses in Forensic Science and Crime Scene Investigation A clear introduction to the technology of the modern crime laboratory for non-scientists Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science, Twelfth Edition, uses clear writing, case stories, and modern technology to capture the pulse and fervor of forensic science investigations. Written for readers with no scientific background, only the most relevant scientific and technological concepts are presented. The nature of physical evidence is defined, and the limitations that technology and current knowledge impose on its individualization and characterization are examined. A major portion of the text centers on discussions of the common items of physical evidence encountered at crime scenes. Particular attention is paid to the meaning and role of probability in interpreting the evidential significance of scientifically evaluated evidence. Updated throughout, the Twelfth Edition includes a new chapter on the exciting field of forensic biometrics. With its easy-to-understand writing and straightforward presentation, this best-selling text is clear and comprehensible to a wide variety of students.
Death Investigation by
Death Investigation: An Introduction to Forensic Pathology for the Nonscientist provides students and law enforcement professionals with an accurate, clear overview of forensic pathology. It presents death investigation at the scene and autopsy, providing readers with a broad understanding of forensic pathology and giving them a clear picture of what happens after the examination of the scene. Readers learn what first responders should (and should not) do at the scene, and get a forensic pathologist's perspective on the importance of preserving evidence. Death Investigation methodically explains what happens during autopsy to determine cause and manner of death -- including particulars of blunt force trauma, sharp force injuries, asphyxia, and gunshot wounds -- and how findings are presented in court. Written for a criminal justice audience by a practicing forensic pathologist and educator, Death Investigation makes challenging forensics concepts accessible to nonscientists.
Pocket Guide to Crime Scene Photography by
This handy pocket guide is an essential field guide to crime scene photography. The authors have used limited technical terms and jargon to distill concepts down to understandable, step-by-step methodologies. The book highlights best practices that apply to most any crime scene but specialized instructions--pertaining to unique evidence and crime scenes that present challenging conditions--are also provided. The book introduces concise, comprehensive checklists for photographing such evidence as tire tracks, dust impressions, fingerprints, luminescence from trace blood search reagents, and more. This convenient reference allows police professionals, investigators, and crime scene analysts and technicians to improve their proficiency to achieve professional, reliable results.
Practical Crime Scene Processing and Investigation, Third Edition by
Every action performed by a crime scene investigator has an underlying purpose: to both recover evidence and capture scene context. It is imperative that crime scene investigators must understand their mandate--not only as an essential function of their job but because they have the immense responsibility and duty to do so. Practice Crime Scene Processing and Investigation, Third Edition provides the essential tools for what crime scene investigators need to know, what they need to do, and how to do it. As professionals, any investigator's master is the truth and only the truth. Professional ethics demands an absolute adherence to this mandate. When investigators can effectively seek, collect, and preserve information and evidence from the crime scene to the justice system--doing so without any agenda beyond seeking the truth-- not only are they carrying out the essential function and duty of their job, it also increases the likelihood that the ultimate goal of true justice will be served. Richly illustrated--with more than 415 figures, including over 300 color photographs--the Third Edition of this best-seller thoroughly addresses the role of the crime scene investigator in the context of: Understanding the nature of physical evidence, including fingerprint, biological, trace, hair and fiber, impression, and other forms of evidence Assessing the scene, including search considerations and dealing with chemical and bioterror hazards Crime scene photography; scene sketching, mapping, and documentation; and the role of crime scene analysis and reconstruction Bloodstain pattern analysis and discussion of the body as a crime scene Special scene considerations, including fire, buried bodies, and entomological evidence Coverage details the importance of maintaining objectivity, emphasizing that every action the crime scene investigator performs has an underlying purpose: to both recover evidence and capture scene context. Key features: Outlines the responsibilities of the responding officer, from documenting and securing the initial information to providing emergency care Includes three new chapters on light technology and crime scene processing techniques, recovering fingerprints, and castings Addresses emerging technology and new techniques in 3-D Laser scanning procedures in capturing a scene Provides a list of review questions at the end of each chapter Practice Crime Scene Processing and Investigation, Third Edition includes practical, proven methods to be used at any crime scene to ensure that evidence is preserved, admissible in court, and persuasive. Course ancillaries including PowerPoint® lecture slides and a Test Bank are available with qualified course adoption.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Forensic Science by 
Forensic Science by 
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences by 
The Global Practice of Forensic Science by We use the Library of Congress classification system, which is the system most academic libraries use. LC classification uses letters and numbers to designate where the books are shelved. So, for the first book listed in box on the left, the call number is HV8073. B426 2004 REF
First, look on the ends of the shelf ranges to find the reference section. You will see REF or R on the call number label indicating this book is a reference item. So, once you find Reference, find the HV section, then look for the 8,000s, and then find 73.
The next part of the call number is the Cutter number, and Cutters are arranged alphabetically, then in decimal order. So B426 comes before I49.
After you find PS3561 I483, look for the second Cutter number F68. You have found Four Past Midnight!
Don't judge a book by its cover isn't just a cliche, it's good advice. Anyone can write and publish a book. You still need to think about what you're reading and be critical. For example, a book about Scientology by the founder L. Ron Hubbard is going to be very different from a book written by a former adherent of Scientology, or one written by a professor of theology. All three are valid sources, but you must decide which is the best to cite for the point you are trying to make.