LibGuides: Nursing Resources: Nursing & Allied Health Databases

Nursing & Health Databases

Academic Search Complete
Offers a good starting point for research on nearly any topic, covering most areas of academic study and containing full text for 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Reviews of Effectiveness, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong
MEDLINE (EbscoHost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
MEDLINE (OVID)
MEDLINE through OVID is a version of the premier, comprehensive biomedical database designed for advanced users. Updated daily, MEDLINE on OvidSP offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries. Abstracts are included in more than 75% of the records.
MEDLINE (PubMed)
MEDLINE is a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,800 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Access to full-text WVU journal subscriptions is available through the LinkOut icons.
MedlinePlus
Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This ProQuest database offers comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's gateway to MEDLINE, a National Library of Medicine bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Pediatrics and Reproductive Health

ADA Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual
An online resource for pediatric nutrition care; includes calculators, a formulary, meal plans, client education materials, nutrition care for specific conditions, and risk screening materials.
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
POPLINE is the world's largest bibliographic reproductive health database. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the fields of population, family planning, and related health issues. Subjects represented include family planning, human fertility, population law and policy, demography, sexually transmitted diseases, and maternal and child health. POPLINE's 300,000 records represent:Books and book chapters, Technical reports, Journal articles, Papers presented at conferences, Newspaper articles, Theses and dissertations, Limited-distribution unpublished reports, Laws, bills and court decisions, and Training manuals.

Psychological Health & Psychiatry

PsycArticles
Full text articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 34,000 searchable full text articles from 43 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 51 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1987 to the present.
PsychiatryOnline
Web portal that includes the DSM-IV-TR and a selection of journals, practice guidelines and textbooks.

Consumer Health

Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a portal for consumer health care information. The database provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.(Courtesy of WVInfoDepot).
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database provides access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health periodicals covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. The database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.